So many things happening this weekend!

The highly anticipated PBS Kids in the Park festival is tomorrow, Saturday, June 21. But there are lot of other events for families to enjoy this weekend as well.

Also on Saturday, check out the free Summer Solstice Celebration at the Indianapolis Museum of Art’s 100 Acre Woods. The Windsor Park Neighborhood Association will also celebrate the solstice with a festival in Fletcher Park from 12 p.m.-11 p.m.

Saturday and Sunday, you can experience Native American culture through myriad experiences on offer at the Eiteljorg Indian Market and Festival.

Saturday, the Irvington Folk Festival features its Children’s Day from 11 a.m.-2 p.m. at Ellenberger Park.

What do you have planned for the weekend?

 

 

Free introductory parent workshop

Thursday, June 26, Centrality Behavior Support Training is offering a free introductory parent workshop at Downey. Downey Avenue Christian Church is providing the space, and the workshop is open to the community. They are working on options for providing child care. Learn more about  Centrality Behavior Support Training at their website, www.centralitybehavior.com.

 

Play-based versus academic school settings

This is a good jumping-off point for discussion of an important topic.

“The Case for the New Kindergarten: Challenging and Playful” by Daphna Bassok, Amy Claessens, and Mimi Engel

“Academic instruction in early-childhood classrooms is often framed as inherently at odds with “child-centered,” “developmentally appropriate,” or “play-based” practices. This presumed dichotomy—that preschool and kindergarten must either be geared toward play and socioemotional development or focused on rigorous academic instruction—is false.”

Come play with us! Playgroups are scheduled all summer!

Good-bye school year, hello summer! Here at Downey, the fun continues with Summer Playgroups at Ellenberger Park. Join us weekly for lots of socializing, fresh-air play, and good conversation. Everyone is welcome — hope to see you there!

Downey Summer Playgroup at Ellenberger Park’s Pool Playground (Ritter & St Clair)
10:00am to noon

Ellenberger Park playground

Ellenberger Park playground

Tues, June 10
Wed, June 18
Thurs, June 26

Mon, July 7
Tues, July 15
Wed, July 23
Thurs, July 31

Fri, Aug 8
Mon, Aug 11, 10:00-11:00am, indoor Story Time Playgroup at Downey Preschool
Tue, Aug 19
Wed, Aug 27

Thur, Sept 4